The Mustang Forum for Track & Racing Enthusiasts

Taking your Mustang to an open track/HPDE event for the first time? Do you race competitively? This forum is for you! Log in to remove most ads.

• Welcome to the Ford Mustang forum built for owners of the Mustang GT350, BOSS 302, GT500, and all other S550, S197, SN95, Fox Body and older Mustangs set up for open track days, road racing, and/or autocross. Join our forum, interact with others, share your build, and help us strengthen this community!

Tire and Rim Selection

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

So as the title suggests, I'm currently trying to figure out what to put on for rims and tires (stock 2012 Boss 302). I currently am interested in the Apex EC-7s, but I am new to all of this and the offset and spacers are confusing. I've been wanting to put on a square 18x11 setup with the EC-7s, but what ET do I need and will I need spacers on the front or back? My next question is will I need some aftermarket panhard bar if I run 11s? I think I read a few different places that it will be needed if I run anything larger than 10.5s but some other posts made no mention of it. Lastly, I have no idea what I should run for tires, I found Apex will mount Michelin PS4S, but they don't offer any 305 for 18. I'd like to have a street friendly tire but also something that could eventually work on a track. I'm not looking for absolute peak performance, but having 18x11 rims will allow me to work my way up to it if I want to.

I'm new to this stuff so, any information would be greatly appreciated! Also, if there are any threads that might be useful that I should look at let me know. There is a lot of information to sift through when picking the right wheel/tire setup.

Norm Peterson

Corner Barstool Sitter
Exp. Type
HPDE
Exp. Level
5-10 Years
a few miles east of Philly