The Mustang Forum for Track & Racing Enthusiasts

Taking your Mustang to an open track/HPDE event for the first time? Do you race competitively? This forum is for you! Log in to remove most ads.

• Welcome to the Ford Mustang forum built for owners of the Mustang GT350, BOSS 302, GT500, and all other S550, S197, SN95, Fox Body and older Mustangs set up for open track days, road racing, and/or autocross. Join our forum, interact with others, share your build, and help us strengthen this community!

My first race with NASA Racing Texas

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This past weekend I went to comp school with NASA @ TWS. I am now a rookie in the Blitz group. I raced ST2 with my car which is set up to ST3 rules of last year. This meant I was slow for that group. No big deal just getting my feet wet. I did two races on Saturday and on Sunday I did the warm up and the qualifying season. However, my right front hub went and I was done for the day. Here some pictures courtesy of Paul Costa-

IMG_0854_zpslr6gv9c6.jpg
You can see the miss matched wheels. I had to use a R7 with about 20 heat cycles on it to try and race on Sunday.

IMG_0855_zpsyjzpqfbv.jpg
If you look real close the guy with the headset on, next to the golf cart is Eric Foss in this pic.

Also, I had a right front tire failure. The wire that holds the tire bead came out of the tire. I know its weird, but it happened. Here's the pic-

025af07a-71b1-4b07-b9ae-e91679e9594f_zpshbst4kka.jpg

Going to do brake upgrades this off season. Not that I really have an off season as I am schedule for HPDE events through December and NASA picks back up in January at MSRH. Having Vorshlag change out the OEM brakes with PowerBrakes. They are a new company to America and are out of South Africa. Vorshlag is a PowerBrake dealer. Pic of the rear brake courtesy Jon @ Vorshlag-

9914f410-4d8a-4d1d-b315-7539efaf9740_zpsqxtn2hzm.jpg