The Mustang Forum for Track & Racing Enthusiasts

Taking your Mustang to an open track/HPDE event for the first time? Do you race competitively? This forum is for you! Log in to remove most ads.

• Welcome to the Ford Mustang forum built for owners of the Mustang GT350, BOSS 302, GT500, and all other S550, S197, SN95, Fox Body and older Mustangs set up for open track days, road racing, and/or autocross. Join our forum, interact with others, share your build, and help us strengthen this community!

S197 Alaskan Boss 302 Build Thread Profile - S197 Mustangs

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Exp. Type
Autocross
Exp. Level
5-10 Years
Anchorage, Alaska
So I've been lurking here for some time, and finally decided to get around to making an account and creating a thread for my car. Some background, I've been racing Honda's for about 12 years now, the last six of which have been in an Integra Type R that was modified quite heavily. It had a K20Z3 from an 09 Civic Si, Ohlins DFV coilovers, Spoon calipers and a whole host of other suspension and interior mods. I'm a big fan of the whole OEM+ idea that evolved from the VW crowd and intend to do the same with the Boss 302.

I've wanted to do a CAM build for a long time now, and really wanted to build a 65-66 Fastback with Maier Racings catalog on it but the sheer cost of restoration and "old car hell" as we call it was not something I wanted to endure. Last year I found this 2013 Boss 302 on Facebook Marketplace, only 23,000 miles on the odometer and the guy who owned it really had no idea what was done to the car. A friend of mine had installed Whitelines entire catalog on the car, including their watts link, for a previous owner who had since passed away. The car was already well on it's way to go racing and the Boss ticks a lot of boxes between old school and new for me and I felt it was worthy successor to the "best handling FWD car of all time" ITR.