Anthony's Full Build/Mods thread

Discussion in 'Road Racing Forum' started by antman450, Mar 9, 2017.

  1. Fabman

    Fabman Because FAST just isn't FAST enough.

    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    142
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Location:
    Pleasanton
    Non issue, just torque em down. They won't spin.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  2. antman450

    antman450 TMO Intermediate

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    45
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    I trust you on this one, but how is that possible? When I undo my Lugnuts, the wheel turns. Nonetheless, I trust you and I will be installing them soon. If you can explain why it doesn't turn, you would satisfy my curiosity though.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  3. Fabman

    Fabman Because FAST just isn't FAST enough.

    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    142
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Location:
    Pleasanton
    I think I misunderstood you, I thought you meant the spindle nut.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  4. Fabman

    Fabman Because FAST just isn't FAST enough.

    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    142
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Location:
    Pleasanton
    Wait....are we talking about the spindle nut?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  5. antman450

    antman450 TMO Intermediate

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    45
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Location:
    San Diego, California
     
  6. Fabman

    Fabman Because FAST just isn't FAST enough.

    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    142
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Location:
    Pleasanton
    No it won't turn. The nut is on the spindle. The hub floats around the spindle on a bearing.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  7. TymeSlayer

    TymeSlayer Tramps like us, Baby we were born to run...

    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location:
    Brighton, Colorado
    I can confirm this as I had no issue with torquing the spindle nut while replacing the front hub/stud assembly. Well, other than the fact I didn't have the right size socket and had to borrow one from the neighbor.
     
  8. antman450

    antman450 TMO Intermediate

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    45
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    That makes perfect sense, I must be retarded and didn't think of it. I'm blaming the painkillers and I'm standing my ground! Lol

    Thanks for the clarification.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Mad302 and Fabman like this.
  9. 302 Hi Pro

    302 Hi Pro Boss 302 - Racing Legend to Modern Muscle Car Moderator

    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    80
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Location:
    Northeast
    Antman450:

    That was a very good question on torque spec of the spindle hub nut. Especially for us old timers who were used to having to properly adjust front wheel bearings.

    The new hub assemblies are non serviceable with sealed bearing sets, they simply slide over the spindle and the washer nut torques down to a collar on the spindle.

    Check YouTube for DIY vids and I think you'll find it an easy repair.

    Keep us posted.
    302 Hi Pro
     
  10. antman450

    antman450 TMO Intermediate

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    45
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    So, got pins pulled from wrist. Told the doctor I hate casts, she says everyone gets one, so we compromised with an adjustable exoskeleton cast. It got heated up and custom molded and you turn the dial to tighten it on so I can take it off if I want to. She trusts I won't do that. Only when I shower and stuff. She knows I've been hurt so often that I know what it takes to heal.

    But I digress from this thread. I installed my hood latches and hood vents last weekend. Want to throw some pictures up and give some updates. Just got a new grill in yesterday. It's a high airflow seven bar billet grille. Haven't installed yet though. Which is the case with about everything I have for the car.
    IMG_0169.JPG IMG_0170.JPG


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    drano38, mattlqx, ArizonaBOSS and 2 others like this.
  11. antman450

    antman450 TMO Intermediate

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    45
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    IMG_0172.JPG


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    ArizonaBOSS and VoodooBoss like this.
  12. VoodooBoss

    VoodooBoss Rick Moderator

    Messages:
    16,731
    Likes Received:
    138
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Location:
    90 Miles East of Sonoma Raceway
    Nice job on the vents and that's a high tech looking wrist brace!
     
  13. antman450

    antman450 TMO Intermediate

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    45
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    It's made by DJO. It's heated and moulded then ratchets on with synthetic laces. The doctor knew that if she put me in a hard cast that I would cut it off in a day. She also knows I've been injured enough to know to not take this off except when necessary. That's why she trusted me with it. Most patients, you wouldn't believe it, they like put on for five minutes and then don't use it and then wonder why they don't heal. Blows my mind.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    VoodooBoss likes this.
  14. mattlqx

    mattlqx '17 GT350

    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    87
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    Much hood pins, such vents!

    I have to ask because now I feel inadequate, are there cases where hoods have failed while using two pins? Does four pins significantly increase protection or stability of the hood?

    Though, you're not running the factory latch at all in the middle right? That'd probably make sense why the inner pins then?
     
    Fabman likes this.
  15. Fabman

    Fabman Because FAST just isn't FAST enough.

    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    142
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Location:
    Pleasanton
    Because 4 pins would be twice as good wouldn't they ;)


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  16. VoodooBoss

    VoodooBoss Rick Moderator

    Messages:
    16,731
    Likes Received:
    138
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Location:
    90 Miles East of Sonoma Raceway
    The GT4 is only using two hood pins.

    IMG_9499.JPG
     
    ArizonaBOSS likes this.
  17. Tri-bar

    Tri-bar TMO Race

    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    I know the new car is using only 2 pins. Have you seen how much movement there is at speed with that though? I feel they sit to far back so the front still lifts.
     
    VoodooBoss likes this.
  18. antman450

    antman450 TMO Intermediate

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    45
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    No latch. I think 4 is better and 2. Not sure how necessary. But think it looks cool. Plus gutted entire underside of hood. Got to 150 and hood never moved a millimeter.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page