The Mustang Forum for Track & Racing Enthusiasts

Taking your Mustang to an open track/HPDE event for the first time? Do you race competitively? This forum is for you! Log in to remove most ads.

• Welcome to the Ford Mustang forum built for owners of the Mustang GT350, BOSS 302, GT500, and all other S550, S197, SN95, Fox Body and older Mustangs set up for open track days, road racing, and/or autocross. Join our forum, interact with others, share your build, and help us strengthen this community!

Brake pedal pulsing

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

I've searched the forums but have not found anything similar to this, so thanks in advance for any advice. I've been doing track days for a couple of years now, mostly with NASA, and have done 3 events in HPDE 2 this year. Road Atlanta is the main track I go to, and I feel comfortable with the line, braking zones, turn in, etc. I have a 2006 Mustang GT with the Brembo 4 piston brake kit, stainless lines, stock rear brakes, and dot 4 fluid. I'm running Centric rotors and G-loc R-12 pads front and R-10 rear. I've started to brake a lot later and harder into the brake zones in turn 1, turn 6, and turn 10a. I'm well into the the anti-loc engagement. The brakes hold up well, and I don't get any fad during the session. What I have started experiencing is the brake pedal "kicking back" or pulsing during release, or with lighter pressure (say a 3 or 4 instead of a 10). It doesn't happen all the time, maybe once or twice per session. It has not affected the braking performance, but wondering about the function of the anti-loc system, or the sharing the master cylinder with the clutch. I have experienced the pulsing while releasing the clutch after down shifting, while holding light brake pressure before release.

Wondering if others have experienced this and what it might be related to? Thanks for any insight.

Exp. Type
Time Attack
Exp. Level
5-10 Years
SoCal