The Mustang Forum for Track & Racing Enthusiasts

Taking your Mustang to an open track/HPDE event for the first time? Do you race competitively? This forum is for you! Log in to remove most ads.

• Welcome to the Ford Mustang forum built for owners of the Mustang GT350, BOSS 302, GT500, and all other S550, S197, SN95, Fox Body and older Mustangs set up for open track days, road racing, and/or autocross. Join our forum, interact with others, share your build, and help us strengthen this community!

Brake Upgrade Advice for my 17 5.0 non-performance pack

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Exp. Type
HPDE
Exp. Level
Under 3 Years
California
Hey guys,

I have a 17 5.0 non-Performance Pack. I am looking to upgrade my brakes and I need some advice. I am new to tracking my car so sorry in advance for some stupid questions. I will be installing the SS lines and doing a flush with Motul RBF600. So, I am looking to upgrade the rotors and the pads now. Right now, I am not looking to do the Brembo 6 pot conversion. Maybe down the line. I don't have track tires yet, I am on Michellin. PS4S.

1. What are the choices for rotors? I don't want to spend big on stuff like 2 piece girodisc yet. Maybe, down the line. I read that I must avoid drilled. Slotted ok but not preferred. But preferably get a high-quality OEM style blank. What are the choices for high-quality blanks? Something that's great bang for the buck without sacrificing performance?
I read that centric blanks are good for the money. Do they perform better than OEM rotor or are they just good replacement rotor for the track that people don't mind burning through? What are the actual performance advantages of the Centric premium over the centric standard?

Are these the ones I should be getting? the 121.xxxxxx