The Mustang Forum for Track & Racing Enthusiasts

Taking your Mustang to an open track/HPDE event for the first time? Do you race competitively? This forum is for you! Log in to remove most ads.

• Welcome to the Ford Mustang forum built for owners of the Mustang GT350, BOSS 302, GT500, and all other S550, S197, SN95, Fox Body and older Mustangs set up for open track days, road racing, and/or autocross. Join our forum, interact with others, share your build, and help us strengthen this community!

Define brake pedal modulation and what makes one car better than another

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

I am a noob to the ways of handling and stopping. A term I keep hearing is "Brake Pedal Modulation." Should a car have a soft pedal, medium pedal, or a hard pedal??

To me, compared to my last two cars, an Infiniti G35 with factory Brembo brakes and a Pontiac G8, my Boss has a soft pedal.

If I prefer a harder pedal, how do I go about doing that? On my Infiniti I put braided hoses on it and really didn't feel that much of a difference for the cost or labor involved.

Discuss....

ArizonaBOSS

Because racecar.
Arizona, USA
Brake modulation has more to do with the pad compound choice than the stiffness of the pedal, it is how well the brake system reacts to varying pedal pressures. However I don't know anybody that wants a soft pedal. Some pads are very "grabby" so it's tough to ease into them or just apply a dab when needed. A lot of it has to do with driver feel and preference as well.

Braided SS lines will firm your pedal right up. It's very soft from the factory despite the "low expansion" brake lines on the Boss from the factory. I use the Goodridge lines, but PeteInCt can hook you up.

Sesshomurai