The Mustang Forum for Track & Racing Enthusiasts

Taking your Mustang to an open track/HPDE event for the first time? Do you race competitively? This forum is for you! Log in to remove most ads.

• Welcome to the Ford Mustang forum built for owners of the Mustang GT350, BOSS 302, GT500, and all other S550, S197, SN95, Fox Body and older Mustangs set up for open track days, road racing, and/or autocross. Join our forum, interact with others, share your build, and help us strengthen this community!

Dilemma: Build a gt350r or a gt500 to prep for road racing or buy completed track car?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Exp. Type
HPDE
Exp. Level
5-10 Years
Fl
My background is a highly modded 997 gt3. Im tempted to buy a gt500 and gutt it as a road race car but afraid I will miss having a manual trans. 90% of the time I track at sebring and about twice a year at daytona. I love how the gt500 has an endless opportunity for power but think the gt350r will get me the feel that I'm accustomed to. I like that even if I get them setup for the track I can drive them to car shows opposed to buying a track car that I cant. First world problems. Budget is about 100k

Exp. Type
W2W Racing
Exp. Level
20+ Years
Snowy North
350R is great especially the 2019+ with Gen2 engine mods. If, however, you intend to race it for points and more than regionally, then the reliability of a CPC engine (in a race car-race car) that will live 90+% of its life close to 8k rpm...coupled with race engine building/expertise of CPC wizards.....well...simple is usually most cost effective, unless you are the factory.