The Mustang Forum for Track & Racing Enthusiasts

Taking your Mustang to an open track/HPDE event for the first time? Do you race competitively? This forum is for you! Log in to remove most ads.

• Welcome to the Ford Mustang forum built for owners of the Mustang GT350, BOSS 302, GT500, and all other S550, S197, SN95, Fox Body and older Mustangs set up for open track days, road racing, and/or autocross. Join our forum, interact with others, share your build, and help us strengthen this community!

DIY Removable Track Numbers Material

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Exp. Type
HPDE
Exp. Level
Under 3 Years
Georgia, USA
I'm new to the HPDE scene with a GT350. I have a vinyl cutter and would like to design and cut my own removable numbers for track days. Reusable would be great, but not required. Does anyone have a suggestion for vinyl that will be safe for paint, removable, and durable for a track day?

Exp. Type
HPDE
Exp. Level
20+ Years
MN
I know nothing about vinyl that they use for numbering but I do know that "reusable" is a term that I've never been able to make work. If you have a vinyl cutter, I believe you are 3/4 of your way there. Vinyl sheets are relatively inexpensive, IMO. You're going to find the amount of time you spend trying to save the "reusable" numbers is probably not worth it. Buy some magnetic sheets and make mag numbers if you plan to track often. Others may have more experienced opinions, but thats my thoughts on it.

Bay Area
Just make numbers as you need them. They are relatively cheap and the time it would take to install and remove is not worth the effort. Or do like me and be a DB and keep them on all the time. :)

Bill Pemberton

0ld Ford Automotive Racing Terror
Exp. Type
Time Attack
Exp. Level
20+ Years
Blair, Nebraska