Engine Wiring Harness Replacements

Discussion in 'Drivetrain, Exhaust and Electrical' started by cloud9, Dec 2, 2013.

  1. steveespo

    steveespo Lord knows I'm a Voodoo Child Moderator

    Messages:
    3,384
    Likes Received:
    616
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Location:
    NY Metro
    They mark the cam solenoid connectors since they are all the same. Crank position also gets a label. The rest can only fit the sensor they belong with.
    Steve
     
  2. DGRacing

    DGRacing Darren

    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Location:
    Haymarket, VA
    I could be wrong but I thought too that the harness wire lengths are fit to length so you can really only put it on one way snugly. Right?
     
  3. ArizonaBOSS

    ArizonaBOSS Because racecar. Moderator

    Messages:
    8,089
    Likes Received:
    1,665
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    The stock harness is like that in general but the PRS looks like they add some extra lengths of wire on their custom connectors.
     
  4. BigTaco

    BigTaco TMO Addict

    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    183
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    I just noticed this while looking at the new parts list on Fordracingparts.com. This may be an easy way to have PRS update your harness or at the very least have a "cheap" spare on the shelf for a raining day. This would shorten down time but you do need buy the cam sensors to have everything you need to send to PRS. Hopefully there is a lot of room in the price of this kit to push the selling price down. Autonation or Levittown Ford comes to mind.....


    5.0L TIVCT COYOTE ENGINE HARNESS

    M-12508-M50


    Suggested Retail Price

    $395.00


    Sold in Units of:

    Each (1)


    tech notes

    Fits 2011-2014 Coyote 5.0L engine with Boss 302 or CJ intake manifold
    2/27/12 and newer VCT solenoids BR3Z-6M280-D required
    Compatible with Ford Performance Racing Parts M-6017-A504V Control Pack
    Can be used as a core for stand-alone EFI installations
    Used on M-6007-A50XS crate engine
     
  5. steveespo

    steveespo Lord knows I'm a Voodoo Child Moderator

    Messages:
    3,384
    Likes Received:
    616
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Location:
    NY Metro
    This is exactly how I did it only bought the individual parts from Tousely, got the harness, solenoids, cam sensors and crank sensor, plus a new knock sensor jumper harness for $446. Sent that brand new box to PRS and had them do Stage 1 mod. Really high quality work. and it all fits perfectly.
    Steve
     
  6. Swiss Boss

    Swiss Boss TMO Addict

    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    159
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Location:
    Racing Capital of the world
    Thanks
     
  7. cloud9

    cloud9 Gary

    Messages:
    6,581
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Just a heads up for those of you that have done this upgrade. If you have a sensor fail, you realize you'll have to send a new one to PRS to be modified before you can replace it. I was getting P0300s quite a bit at the track and then got them on the street so knew something was up. It was bad enough the P0300 would trigger a CEL within seconds of startup along with a P0316 (random misfire at startup). Ford Hotline's immediate response was it needs a new crank sensor. I had to get one overnighted from Ford and then overnight it to PRS to put the upgraded connector on it and overnighted back. Hats off to PRS on their service. I called up Clint and he said he could turn around one sensor in a day. They got it mid-morning on Thursday and said they weren't sure if the epoxy would set up quick enough to get it back out that day but they would try. Clint called later Thursday afternoon and said he would drop it at UPS on his way home to give it enough time to set up. I had it back Friday morning and installed and running great. First class operation.
     
  8. Swiss Boss

    Swiss Boss TMO Addict

    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    159
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Location:
    Racing Capital of the world
    +1 for PRS. A little bit expensive but awesome customer service and the upgraded harness took care of my problem. Definitely you get what you paid for.

    Also found this post on SVTP if you run an aftermarket clutch
    http://www.svtperformance.com/forums/showthread.php?1073175-P030X-issue-What-clutch-are-you-running
     
  9. VoodooBoss

    VoodooBoss Rick Moderator

    Messages:
    20,167
    Likes Received:
    2,594
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Location:
    90 Miles East of Sonoma Raceway
    That's good info from Shaun at AED. FWIW I have the RXT and haven't thrown any codes since it was installed over two years ago. I have 11,000+ miles and at least 15 track days. Cloud9 is not using the RXT or RST. If I was going to install another clutch I'd probably go with the RST instead of the RXT.
     
  10. cloud9

    cloud9 Gary

    Messages:
    6,581
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Great find Swiss Boss. The tech said the sensor was covered in clutch dust and had cleaned it off as a first attempt at a fix along with a relearn but it still failed to work properly. I have an Exedy twin disc. I guess I'll have to have them clean it routinely although every oil change seems a little excessive since I change oil every 4-6 track hours. I wonder at what point cleaning no longer works and it causes a failure?
     
  11. cloud9

    cloud9 Gary

    Messages:
    6,581
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD
    I've had the Exedy for 2 or 3 years and probably 30-40 track days. Cleaning it at every oil change like Shaun suggests is probably a little more than needed, but looks like something that needs to be periodically cleaned off. That's assuming it's actually the cause of my CPS failure and not just a sensor failure on its own. Cleaning mine off didn't fix it.
     
  12. GProcac571

    GProcac571 TMO Intermediate

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
    You Steve!! It's Greg from SCMC and I had the P0020 code come up at the track this weekend, advice or part #s you recommend to solve this issue. I had some advice from Mike Roushe too while I was there.
     
  13. k98dave

    k98dave TMO Addict

    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    64
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Location:
    FORT WORTH TEXAS
    Reading thru the posts on this I looked at the sensor harness and they are the early style. My car is #0479 build date 5/11. I'm not having any issues but is it just a matter of when not if this will happen? I got the long warranty so guess I'm not too worried. Just hate to have to wait and see.
     
  14. Mad Hatter

    Mad Hatter Gotta go Faster

    Messages:
    2,322
    Likes Received:
    889
    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    Just a update.. put in a new 2013+ harness into my 2012 Boss and got codes right away..... Turns out some one was having a bad day at ford! A White with black stripe wire was swapped for a White with brown stripe wire !!! SO had no spark to coil number 5.... Who would have thought that a new harness would come cross-wired... Lucky its all fixed now
     

Share This Page