The Mustang Forum for Track & Racing Enthusiasts

Taking your Mustang to an open track/HPDE event for the first time? Do you race competitively? This forum is for you! Log in to remove most ads.

• Welcome to the Ford Mustang forum built for owners of the Mustang GT350, BOSS 302, GT500, and all other S550, S197, SN95, Fox Body and older Mustangs set up for open track days, road racing, and/or autocross. Join our forum, interact with others, share your build, and help us strengthen this community!

Enviromental disaster in Ohio

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

So we're all aware of this thing, and its' possible effects, but I would like to throw in a different viewpoint. I was a firefighter for 32 years and held a Haz Mat respone certification (among a million other certs) and have handled some minor to not so minor transportation problems of haz mat.
Some of my credentials..

1676476464789.png

1676476714588.png
1676476528989.png

First off, the stuff that is being transported, Polyvinyl Chloride is used in everyday industry, most haz mat stuff is, the thing that worried me most was always the shipment of chlorine. This stuff is chilled to where litterally thousands of pounds of it can be transported efficiently, problem is, if the refrigeration fails or the container is compromised, instead of an evacuation area of a 1/4 mile, you are now looking at maybe 3 to 5 miles, depending on the wind direction. One of the problems with methanol, that the transportation industry has to overcome is it cannot be shipped via pipeline, and must be shipped by truck, adding to the cost of it's production, although methanol is a pretty benign haz mat. These are just some of the trransportation challenges of commodities.