The Mustang Forum for Track & Racing Enthusiasts

Taking your Mustang to an open track/HPDE event for the first time? Do you race competitively? This forum is for you! Log in to remove most ads.

• Welcome to the Ford Mustang forum built for owners of the Mustang GT350, BOSS 302, GT500, and all other S550, S197, SN95, Fox Body and older Mustangs set up for open track days, road racing, and/or autocross. Join our forum, interact with others, share your build, and help us strengthen this community!

Hotchkis Spring Install Notes

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hey guys,

I dont really have any pictures from during the install, but wanted to drop some notes for anyone who wanted to change their springs. First of all, I am a beginner. I have great mechanical aptitude (I should since I studied Mechanical Engineering and love cars!), but almost no hand-on experience (Token engineer!). Therefore, when I bought my car, I promised myself that I would install everything myself. Unfortunately, I have broken that promise, since I will have a shop install my full exhaust at the end of May. However, I installed new springs, and will install the MGW shifter, Dynotech d/s, and change the trans oil this weekend. I should have some notes for the latter sometime next week.

Regarding the springs, I would rate the install a 7/10. It was very time consuming because I had no experience and took as many pre-cautions as I could. Furthermore, I did not have the right tools either, so I had to MacGyver a few things. All in all, I had a blast, and I am pleased with the results.

A couple points,