The Mustang Forum for Track & Racing Enthusiasts

Taking your Mustang to an open track/HPDE event for the first time? Do you race competitively? This forum is for you! Log in to remove most ads.

• Welcome to the Ford Mustang forum built for owners of the Mustang GT350, BOSS 302, GT500, and all other S550, S197, SN95, Fox Body and older Mustangs set up for open track days, road racing, and/or autocross. Join our forum, interact with others, share your build, and help us strengthen this community!

I'm trying to pick a tire, please help

Which tires should I get??

• Total voters

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

First let me say that I do hate these kind of posts. This group is the only one whose opinion I will listen to.

Background. I am a novice driver. My car has the usual modifications (see signature). I drive a total of 6,000 miles per year, about 300-500 of those miles are track miles.

Currently I am on a set of rock hard Michelin Pilot Super Sports. They have about 6/32 tread left after 4 years of the above type driving.

I don't know if I'm ready for the jump to a 200TW tire. Will moderate street driving shorten the life of a 200TW tire??

A guy here at work is trying to get me to go to NT-01 tires. No, mainly because they don't come in the size I want.

I put the Michelin Cup 2 on the poll just because if most think I should go 200TW and my friend here at work wants me on the Nitto, I figured the Cup 2 would split the difference.....

Please vote and if possible explain why you are voting the way you did. Thanks.....

Grant 302

basic and well known psychic
I can't really vote for just one, they're all decent choices.

But if I rank them:

Dry:
Cup2
RE-71
R-S4
4S

Wet:
4S
RE-71
R-S4
Cup2

I think for your use and mileage, I would worry more about age of the tires over a concern for street miles. JMO.

TymeSlayer

Tramps like us, Baby we were born to run...
Exp. Type
HPDE
Exp. Level