The Mustang Forum for Track & Racing Enthusiasts

Taking your Mustang to an open track/HPDE event for the first time? Do you race competitively? This forum is for you! Log in to remove most ads.

• Welcome to the Ford Mustang forum built for owners of the Mustang GT350, BOSS 302, GT500, and all other S550, S197, SN95, Fox Body and older Mustangs set up for open track days, road racing, and/or autocross. Join our forum, interact with others, share your build, and help us strengthen this community!

Looking for advice on new engine for ‘12 BOSS 302S

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Need some help guys. I’m just getting into this sport. I just bought a 2012 Boss 302S with a blown engine. I’ve spoke to several people about different engines, stock one, 5.0 Aluminator XS, Roush-Yates and a GT350 crate engine. Anyone on here have any other engines available before I pull the trigger on one of these or any suggestions on different engines? I’m planning on justdoing track events at VIR and eventually gointo NASA American Iron and SCCA.

THANKS!!!

5.0 XS is unavailable and out of production (unless there is one sitting on a shelf in stock at a vendor somewhere). 5.2XS would be awesome but you would definitely have to swap out to FP gen one cams for GT350 heads and use gen 1 cam phasers. You may also have to change oil pans to make it work in a S197 chassis. That would be a screamer right there...

5.0 XS is unavailable and out of production (unless there is one sitting on a shelf in stock at a vendor somewhere). 5.2XS would be awesome but you would definitely have to swap out to FP gen one cams for GT350 heads and use gen 1 cam phasers. You may also have to change oil pans to make it work in a S197 chassis. That would be a screamer right there...

Thanks. I did find a 5.0 Aluminator XS with 200 Miles on it. Oh yeah I would love the 5.2, but I think A LOT needs to be converted over for it.