Mid-Engine Corvette Race Car

Discussion in 'Track Cars and Other Cars Forum' started by VoodooBoss, Aug 8, 2018.

1. VoodooBoss

VoodooBoss Rick Moderator

Looks like Chevy is going to finally up the ante with the mid engine Corvette race car. It may never compete at Le Mans with the GT's if it doesn't run in 2019. I believe the GT program is four years long and the last year would be 2019. Hopefully Ford will have something else ready to roll but I have no knowledge of another race car.

https://www.roadandtrack.com/motors.../?src=nl&mag=rdt&list=nl_rdt_news&date=080818

corvette1-final-1533744601.jpg

The_Dead_Cow likes this.
  2. 302BOB

302BOB TMO Addict

Corvette mid engine long overdue IMHO

3. racer47

racer47 All I got left is fast

I don't know. Is it really needed? The rear mounted transaxle is a good layout. Engine in front, driver in the middle, trans out back, 50/50 front to rear wt, seems pretty ideal to me. Its become the classic Corvette layout. Why mess with it?

Rear engine means more rear wt and more driver forward seating. Obviously it can be made to work but I guess I'm not a fan. Doesn't really matter tho, I'm not buying one regardless of where the engine is.

4. 302BOB

302BOB TMO Addict

Neither will I. I think the mid engine will be considered an upgrade, much like Ford changing the rear axle format of the Mustang in 2015 (finally).

5. The_Dead_Cow

The_Dead_Cow Mike

I want one!

6. racer47

I agree that for Vette buyers it probably will be considered an upgrade.

But I'm not a fan of the IRS Mustang either. Stick axle tends to have a bad name but all the GT1 and Trans Am cars are solid axle 9" rear ends and they are all wickedly fast.