The Mustang Forum for Track & Racing Enthusiasts

Taking your Mustang to an open track/HPDE event for the first time? Do you race competitively? This forum is for you! Log in to remove most ads.

• Welcome to the Ford Mustang forum built for owners of the Mustang GT350, BOSS 302, GT500, and all other S550, S197, SN95, Fox Body and older Mustangs set up for open track days, road racing, and/or autocross. Join our forum, interact with others, share your build, and help us strengthen this community!

My History: My best road racing Mustangs (some w/ pics). It won 65 podiums.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

1995CobraR

Three time Champion
Exp. Type
W2W Racing
Exp. Level
20+ Years
Sandy Springs, GA
I am an old guy. I graduated from the Road Atlanta Driving School in 1990. It was sponsored by Datsun, and we drove the old 300ZX cars in the school. They did not handle well. A good lap time was below 2:00 minutes.

That is old since it was before Dr. Panoz bought Road Atlanta. He took out the famous "Dip" in the back straight and replaced it with T-10A and T-10b. He wanted an IMSA car event which he got.

I raced a SCCA BMW 2002 in 1990. It was not competitive. SCCA liked wrecking cars at the time. I moved to vintage racing. I won some in a 1959 Austin Healey Sprite. It would do a !:52 lap time. The cost of racing was very expensive for me.
Spriteb.jpg

A good friend offered me a race prepared 1965 Mustang for the Sprite.We did the deal in 2 minutes.
2009Mitty.jpg

I made a few modifications with much help from other Mustang guys.

It did win the podiums.

Bill Pemberton

0ld Ford Automotive Racing Terror
Exp. Type
Time Attack
Exp. Level
20+ Years
Blair, Nebraska