P030X Random Misfire & Limp Mode Questionaire and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'Drivetrain, Exhaust and Electrical' started by zzyzx, Jul 25, 2012.

What solution was administered to address your P0300/Limp Mode Issues

  1. Crankshaft Sensor Relearn was performed

    25.9%
  2. PCM Software Upgrade performed

    14.8%
  3. Crankshaft Sensor replaced

    7.4%
  4. Cam Sensor(s) replaced

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. Wiring Harness replaced

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. Multiple actions taken (add as a reply to this thread)

    18.5%
  7. My issue is still pending (add actions taken below as a reply)

    33.3%
  1. Keith T

    Keith T TMO Intermediate

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Location:
    Morgantown, WV
    Hello all,
    Last night I did a track night and experienced a misfire code.

    A little background....... My CEL light stays on because I do not have the cats on (codes P0420 and P0430). I just leave it on no big deal. what concerns me is when I am really pushing the car hard it starts running rough and the CEL begins flashing. I noticed then then Bank 1 was running lean (20:1 or around there) while Bank 2 was normal (14:1).

    In between sessions I looked quickly at the codes and saw a misfire code. I was in a hurry to get back out there so I quickly cleared them and went and added 5 gallons of 100 octane fuel thinking it could have been poor fuel.

    Next run had it again. It sounds terrible and runs rough and then would straighten up. When I got home I read the codes again and there was not any misfire codes..... ? just the usual Catalyst codes.

    I have read about the O ring fix and crankshaft sensor relearn. Is the poor rough running associated with this problem? Or am I perhaps dealing with something different? I was running the track key.

    Thank you, Keith
     
  2. TMSBOSS

    TMSBOSS TMO Addict

    Messages:
    4,085
    Likes Received:
    1,203
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    O-ring and relearn are cheap and easy fixes. Start there. Also look for build up in the sensor when you pull it for the o-ring.
    Do you have a tune??
     
  3. ArizonaBOSS

    ArizonaBOSS Because racecar. Moderator

    Messages:
    8,189
    Likes Received:
    1,813
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    Crank position error shouldn't cause a lean condition. You may need to replace the front O2 sensor on the lean bank.
     
  4. Keith T

    Keith T TMO Intermediate

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Location:
    Morgantown, WV

    I did have a custom tune but just recently went back to the stock tune/track key tune.

    Is the crankshaft position sensor something I can do myself? I thought there was some sort of dealer reflash needed? Thanks!
     
  5. Keith T

    Keith T TMO Intermediate

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Location:
    Morgantown, WV
    Ok, any test to run on the sensor? Or just replace it?

    It may be possible that it was damaged when it was in the shop recently for the clutch and shifter.....
     
  6. ArizonaBOSS

    ArizonaBOSS Because racecar. Moderator

    Messages:
    8,189
    Likes Received:
    1,813
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    I'm not sure of an official test for the O2 sensors--but theoretically you could swap them (left-to-right) and see if the code re-occurs and if the Lean bank is on the same side as before or not. If it's on the same side as before, the sensor is OK. If the lean bank follows the swapped O2 sensor, the sensor may be the culprit.
     
  7. Mad Hatter

    Mad Hatter Gotta go Faster

    Messages:
    2,496
    Likes Received:
    1,029
    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    Seems O2 sensores need to be replaced quite often. I have gone through 2 in 50.000km. Maybe LT headers are a reason? Not having them working well leads to scary outcomes....

    Every time I remove a tranny for any reason (more often then I ever imagined!) I do a crank relearn with a sct X4.

    Sent from my SM-G900M using Tapatalk
     
  8. winkawak

    winkawak TMO Beginner

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2017
    Location:
    FL
    Sorry for bringing up old thread, after almost 5 years(only 35kmiles) of owning my 13' gt auto engine check light started flashing today with moderate acceleration.

    Got a p0300, i know theres a tsb out for o ring and a relearn. But is there anyway i can get away with just replacing the o ring without the relearn or just disconnect my battery for few hours? has anyone tried it without relearn and worked?

    I didnt experience any power loss of that sort, is the misfire code a glitch? if its just a annoying flashing light i think i can live with it.

    I have alot of bad experiences with dealership when it comes to repairs and i rather do it myself.

    edit
    it seems procal tuner has the ability to do the misfire relearn, i might do that while gettin on ford racing tune since im still on stock tune.
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2017
  9. 302 Hi Pro

    302 Hi Pro Boss 302 - Racing Legend to Modern Muscle Car

    Messages:
    1,707
    Likes Received:
    182
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Location:
    Northeast
    Are you thinking about this Ford Technical Service Bulletin?

    https://latemodel.cachefly.net/downloads/tsb05-14/tsb13-01-11.pdf

    If not, (as this is for MT6 5.0 Mustangs built prior to November 30, 2012), you can visit LMR’s website and use their TSB|Recall library. Very handy resource.

    If your repair is covered under a TSB and if it states: “Using IDS, perform the Misfire Monitor Neutral Profile Correction procedure“, then I would not try to bypass this step.

    Good luck in diagnosing your CEL cause and please keep us updated on your fix.
     

Share This Page