The Mustang Forum for Track & Racing Enthusiasts

Taking your Mustang to an open track/HPDE event for the first time? Do you race competitively? This forum is for you! Log in to remove most ads.

• Welcome to the Ford Mustang forum built for owners of the Mustang GT350, BOSS 302, GT500, and all other S550, S197, SN95, Fox Body and older Mustangs set up for open track days, road racing, and/or autocross. Join our forum, interact with others, share your build, and help us strengthen this community!

Racing School

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Looking for recommendations about racing schools to get an scca competition license. My top choice so far would be Skip Barber at COTA in February. The end goal is to run TA2 in the trans am series but I would most likely start with a spec miata series, so the school would need to fulfill the respective license requirements.

I have about 5 years experience racing karts at a fairly high level and I have ran a handful of track days with my 13' boss at Hallett and Gateway. Several people have suggested Skip Barber but to my understanding it is under new ownership. For skip barber I have narrowed it down to the 3 day mustang school or the 3 day formula 4 school. Which program would be better for what i'm looking to do? If any of you guys have experience at skip barber or any other schools id love to hear about it.

mattlqx

Mustangless
I'd definitely stick with the type of car you intend to run despite how attractive an experience in a single-seater maybe. You'll get more lessons that will directly translate to what you're running. Either way would be fun but, IMO condensed experience at a school is less valuable than just jumping in and running events and learning if you have a reasonable amount of track-time under your belt already.