The Mustang Forum for Track & Racing Enthusiasts

Taking your Mustang to an open track/HPDE event for the first time? Do you race competitively? This forum is for you! Log in to remove most ads.

• Welcome to the Ford Mustang forum built for owners of the Mustang GT350, BOSS 302, GT500, and all other S550, S197, SN95, Fox Body and older Mustangs set up for open track days, road racing, and/or autocross. Join our forum, interact with others, share your build, and help us strengthen this community!

Should I sell the Boss 302??

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fbbob96

2013 SBY #0750
dabossinne said:
Well 13Boss... It's a hard decision, and I know where you're comin' from. I've been in the same position several times in the past

Had a '69 Boss 429 that my was Dad's HS grad gift to me (although I had to pay for 1/2 the purchase cost). I sold it right before I graduated from college, got married and went in the Navy. Shoulda figured out a way to store it for a few years until I got settled and had a place to keep it. But, at the time the immediate cash seemed a better option, and when you're 23 you don't think much about the future.

A few years later, in 1988, I bought a '65 Shelby GT350 (back when they were still relatively affordable) as a young Navy LT, and drove it daily and tracked/auto-xed it for the next five years. Then, I left the Navy, kids came along, work and life happened, and it became a mostly un-driven pile of potential cash sitting in my garage over the next five years. So, after 10 years of ownership I sold it, too. Again, 20/20 hindsight, I shoulda kept it (and very well could have...didn't need the money, had the garage space....sigh...), but didn't. Apparently I hadn't learned from my Boss '9 mistake.