The Mustang Forum for Track & Racing Enthusiasts

Taking your Mustang to an open track/HPDE event for the first time? Do you race competitively? This forum is for you! Log in to remove most ads.

• Welcome to the Ford Mustang forum built for owners of the Mustang GT350, BOSS 302, GT500, and all other S550, S197, SN95, Fox Body and older Mustangs set up for open track days, road racing, and/or autocross. Join our forum, interact with others, share your build, and help us strengthen this community!

Tire pressure

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

How much does tire pressure affect the way a car steers?

Right now I am running 265 front/ 295 rear tires ( Pilot Super Sports ) the car has a tendency to push through corners. Right now I am comfortable with that because I am still learning.

My last HPDE event, my instructor told me to keep tire pressures at 38 psi hot. I did this with all 4 tires.

My question, is tire pressure used for a fine tuning tool? If I lowered my front tire pressure to say, 36 psi, and kept the rear at 38 psi, would that 2 lbs be enough to notice??

One last question, I'm thinking a better fix for this would be Camber Plates and just keeping the tires at 38 psi. Running more negative camber to increase the front traction. Am I on the right track, so to speak???

Grant 302

basic and well known psychic
A lot of us fine tune with pressures. Been doing it for for years on the street to get the best wear too.
I'd also consider bumping up the pressure in the back instead. JMO, but I think PSS need higher than typical pressure since they have a really soft sidewall. Lowering the fronts hot to 36 might make it feel a bit more sloppy, especially if the 265s are on 9" rims. On a 9.5" or 10", it wouldn't matter as much for steering feel.

also see Rob's thread here:
https://trackmustangsonline.com/index.php?topic=11032.msg158467#msg158467

and Steve's thread here: