The Mustang Forum for Track & Racing Enthusiasts

Taking your Mustang to an open track/HPDE event for the first time? Do you race competitively? This forum is for you! Log in to remove most ads.

• Welcome to the Ford Mustang forum built for owners of the Mustang GT350, BOSS 302, GT500, and all other S550, S197, SN95, Fox Body and older Mustangs set up for open track days, road racing, and/or autocross. Join our forum, interact with others, share your build, and help us strengthen this community!

Towing with Magnaride...How Should the Car be Tied Down?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Exp. Type
HPDE
Exp. Level
5-10 Years
Virginia
I'm a newbie at towing my car to the track. I purchased a Futura Trailer last December and towed 7 hours round trip VIR using the tire mounted tow straps without issue. I mention the trailer because its equipped with over the tire straps. I've read that this isn't ideal for the deenergized magnaride struts/shocks? Should I be towing using attachment points instead (Ford Perf Tie Down kit)? If so, please recomend a good set of tie down straps. Ive also considered just lanyarding the underside to limit movement in conjunction with the tire straps but, this might just be overkill? Thanks for you input.

First post here - I tow my car using Ford Performance tie downs (doubt having Magride matter that much - it still moves - just less than if you tie down tires). Straps - Mac Tie Downs. Have towed over 4 thousand miles this year and about to make 1500 roundtrip next week...

JDee

Ancient Racer
Exp. Type
W2W Racing
Exp. Level
20+ Years
5 miles from Mosport
Ford has a document that I attached that shows where you should hook up straps for transporting their cars, they recommend "J" hooks and the attachment points are the ones under the car behind the front wheels and ahead of the rear wheels. Look on Sheet 7 down near the bottom for the Mustang and GT350 recommendations.