The Mustang Forum for Track & Racing Enthusiasts

Taking your Mustang to an open track/HPDE event for the first time? Do you race competitively? This forum is for you! Log in to remove most ads.

• Welcome to the Ford Mustang forum built for owners of the Mustang GT350, BOSS 302, GT500, and all other S550, S197, SN95, Fox Body and older Mustangs set up for open track days, road racing, and/or autocross. Join our forum, interact with others, share your build, and help us strengthen this community!

S197 3V What to look out for in a '05–'06 GT for endurance racing?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hi all!

I've been racing autox and time attack for several years and feel it's time to get into wheel to wheel racing. I'm leaning towards the Lucky Dog endurance series as a "less expensive" way to get into it. The newest model year car they allow is 2006, and the most popular cars in the series are Miatas and E36/E46 BMWs. But, I'd like to do something a little different! I think a 2005 or 2006 manual transmission GT coupe would be great fun, and relatively inexpensive to work on with lots of aftermarket support. (And a really active forum!)

Most of the inexpensive used GTs I'm finding have well over 100K miles on them. That's OK as long as the body is straight, but I'd like to avoid engine or transmission failure—or major rebuilds right out of the gate. My initial work will be to put in the cage, fire suppression system, etc., and to upgrade the suspension and brakes. I'm hoping to put off any major driveline work until the second year.

So, in a 2005 or 2006 GT, what should I be wary of in a high mileage transmission and engine? Is there any preventative maintenance beyond what's in the normal maintenance schedule that I should do to get the most life out of them? Any other tips when shopping for an endurance racing car? Thanks!

Exp. Type
Time Attack
Exp. Level
5-10 Years
SoCal