The Mustang Forum for Track & Racing Enthusiasts

Taking your Mustang to an open track/HPDE event for the first time? Do you race competitively? This forum is for you! Log in to remove most ads.

• Welcome to the Ford Mustang forum built for owners of the Mustang GT350, BOSS 302, GT500, and all other S550, S197, SN95, Fox Body and older Mustangs set up for open track days, road racing, and/or autocross. Join our forum, interact with others, share your build, and help us strengthen this community!

Brakes for track day

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hey guys, I am looking for any opinions. I have a 2012 GT Mustang with 2013 GT500 brake calipers front and rear. Long story short keep melting the axle seals so got the larger rear rotors to move the heat away and that worked. I have been battling the brakes with this vehicle for a few years really run a tight budget but not much has been working. This past weekend I ran at the M1 concourse (1.5MI track) using DTC60 up front and DTC30 in the rear. Felt really good on the street but by the 2nd session the rear rotors already peaked over 1400F and the front are operating around 600-800F. With that said I painted the backing plates with temperature paint and its was still under 800F at the rear pads. There are 2-3 inch ducts for air cooling for the front and nothing for rear. I guessing maybe I once again selected the wrong brake pad for the application? I consider myself sort of an immediate driver but its hard to improve with inconsistent brakes. I assume I am still melting the brake pad. I run with stability and traction control all off. Hawk really doesnt offer much in the needed pad sizes for my calipers so is there another company offers more and any thought what compounds would be ideal? Since tires play a role in some of this I have a 19x9.5 wheel with Dunlop Z2 star specs 2 275/35-19 mounted in four corners. This will be replaced by a 265/40-19 ti