The Mustang Forum for Track & Racing Enthusiasts

Taking your Mustang to an open track/HPDE event for the first time? Do you race competitively? This forum is for you! Log in to remove most ads.

• Welcome to the Ford Mustang forum built for owners of the Mustang GT350, BOSS 302, GT500, and all other S550, S197, SN95, Fox Body and older Mustangs set up for open track days, road racing, and/or autocross. Join our forum, interact with others, share your build, and help us strengthen this community!

DOT 4 brake fluids

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

How much is needed to do a complete flush of old fluid to new? I am looking at KNS, and not really sure which fluid to go with. I do plan on doing track days, however I am new to tracking the car. What's the best choice?

Mad Hatter

Gotta go Faster
Santiago, Chile
If you are careful you can do it with one liter, When switching to a new brake fluid, I used a liter and a half to make sure it was flushed out completely. ATE blue was ok but for the track, really really like Castrol SRF. After a long track weekend, on monday morning the Castrol felt like new, the ATE felt tired and needed a bleeding.

My technique: get a oil bottle that has a window on the side and is graduated so you can see how much fluid is in it (I use a mobile one bottle). drill a hole in the cap and insert your aquarium tubing. Take 4 ounces out of each corner for a full fluid change and to ounces out of each corner for a bleed.

Splatter said:
If you are careful you can do it with one liter, When switching to a new brake fluid, I used a liter and a half to make sure it was flushed out completely. ATE blue was ok but for the track, really really like Castrol SRF. After a long track weekend, on monday morning the Castrol felt like new, the ATE felt tired and needed a bleeding.