The Mustang Forum for Track & Racing Enthusiasts

Taking your Mustang to an open track/HPDE event for the first time? Do you race competitively? This forum is for you! Log in to remove most ads.

• Welcome to the Ford Mustang forum built for owners of the Mustang GT350, BOSS 302, GT500, and all other S550, S197, SN95, Fox Body and older Mustangs set up for open track days, road racing, and/or autocross. Join our forum, interact with others, share your build, and help us strengthen this community!

coolers for road racing?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Exp. Type
Time Attack
Exp. Level
Under 3 Years
South Carolina
Hey, I have a few questions if you can give me some advice. I think this is the most related thread to post this for. If I need to start a new one lmk.

I am relatively new to cars and I’ve been using my 6 speed auto 5.0 on a small track with no cooling issues. I want to set up my 10 speed 5.0 right this time though for longevity..

How important is it to box the oil/trans cooler? My plan for oil is the thermostat sandwich plate, and a setrab 960 in front of the stock radiator.

I have the PP1 and I’ve heard that the coolant radiator is larger, I’d like to know if engine cooling is a problems with just the oil cooler, and not messing with the coolant radiator.

for the transmission, my idea is a setrab 116 fan pack, but some sort of thermostat similar to the sandwich plate. While I want to have cooling, this is still having normal road miles as well.

if you’ve set up a baffled pan for your mustang, can you replace the pan without pulling the engine? Like taking out the k member?

if there are any other tips you can give please lmk.