The Mustang Forum for Track & Racing Enthusiasts

Taking your Mustang to an open track/HPDE event for the first time? Do you race competitively? This forum is for you! Log in to remove most ads.

• Welcome to the Ford Mustang forum built for owners of the Mustang GT350, BOSS 302, GT500, and all other S550, S197, SN95, Fox Body and older Mustangs set up for open track days, road racing, and/or autocross. Join our forum, interact with others, share your build, and help us strengthen this community!

S197 Adjustable shocks

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Exp. Type
HPDE
Exp. Level
Under 3 Years
Nova Scotia Canada
both rear stock shocks on my 2014 S197 have failed and I’ve been looking into aftermarket/performance replacement

my main question is. Are adjustable shocks worth the extra money and is the adjustability actually noticeable

I am a student trying to build a fun street and track car without having to spend an arm and a leg.
any recommendations on specific parts is greatly appreciated

Last edited:
Exp. Type
HPDE
Exp. Level
5-10 Years
Lenoir City TN
I ran koni oranges with Steeda sport springs on my 2011 for several years and was happy with the combination on street and track. The car was more composed but not too harsh. I switched to Koni yellows and Steeda competition springs when the oranges started getting tired. The ride is a little stiffer but I like the handling better.

The oranges were kind of like the yellows at the softer end of the adjustment. Once you dial in the adjustment to your liking you probably won’t play with them much but it us nice to be able to dial them to your liking in the beginning. Non-adjustable are fine if they are a good match for the spring you are running.

Exp. Type
HPDE
Exp. Level
Under 3 Years
Nova Scotia Canada