The Mustang Forum for Track & Racing Enthusiasts

Taking your Mustang to an open track/HPDE event for the first time? Do you race competitively? This forum is for you! Log in to remove most ads.

• Welcome to the Ford Mustang forum built for owners of the Mustang GT350, BOSS 302, GT500, and all other S550, S197, SN95, Fox Body and older Mustangs set up for open track days, road racing, and/or autocross. Join our forum, interact with others, share your build, and help us strengthen this community!

HPDE Safety Equipment for S550

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Exp. Type
HPDE
Exp. Level
5-10 Years
Atlanta, GA
Hello All -

I am seeking and would greatly appreciate some advice regarding HPDE safety equipment. I have several years of HPDE experience in a Porsche 911 (996) and a Porsche 944 fully prepped race car. I sold my 911 (still own the 944) and recently purchased a 2017 Mustang GT PP (love the Mustang!). My goal is to drive the Mustang to the track and have fun safely. I'm not too concerned about lap times and pushing the car to the limit, however I have a great deal of respect for the risk associated with on-track driving. I'm willing to invest the money in safety gear, however I would like to keep the car as close to stock form as possible. I've been down the slippery path of fully prepped car, truck, trailer, etc. (certainly nothing wrong with this approach. I'm just looking to simplify and move away from the fully prepped race car).

Here's a couple options I've researched:
  1. https://discoveryparts.com/simpson-...t-works-with-3-way-seat-belt-simpson-hys.html
  2. https://discoveryparts.com/ford-han...5-g6-s550-harness-schroth-quick-fit-pro-.html
Option 2 I would wear my HANS.

Also I've serviced the Mustang with the following fluids:
  • Fluids:
    - Engine: AMSOIL Signature Series 5W20
    - Transmission: AMSOIL DCT
    - Differential: AMSOIL 75w110