The Mustang Forum for Track & Racing Enthusiasts

Taking your Mustang to an open track/HPDE event for the first time? Do you race competitively? This forum is for you! Log in to remove most ads.

• Welcome to the Ford Mustang forum built for owners of the Mustang GT350, BOSS 302, GT500, and all other S550, S197, SN95, Fox Body and older Mustangs set up for open track days, road racing, and/or autocross. Join our forum, interact with others, share your build, and help us strengthen this community!

Shelby Nationals - Hallet

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

So Hallet is on my to-do list but I don't know if I should just jump in on a COMMA DE event or try to partake as part of the Shelby Nats:
http://www.midamericafordmeet.com/index.htm

Has anybody done this event, or can offer an opinion? Would be fun to see a bunch of Mustangs, but concerned that it might be amateur season. Albeit, I'm a relative noob, figure 10-12 days on track by the time this rolls around (and I've got a 2-3 dozen autocrosses in the memory bank).

JScheier

Too Hot for the Boss!
Hallett is a fantastic track! Went back last summer (first time back in 10 years) and loved it. Hot as balls and humid to boot, but the track and facility are first-class and the staff is simply amazing!

I have not done the Shelby Nationals as it almost always coincides with a NASA event. Maybe some of the others can chime in on that.

I will say that after the repaving that Hallett had last year, the surface was slicker than snot. I think I went off track 6 times on Friday and 2-3 on Saturday. No damage, but damn. I hadn't been off-track that much in my last 10 seasons :)

Oh yeah... and I OWNED the biznitch! (it was the rest of the track that owned me :) ).

Tulsa, OK
Like John said, Hallett is a great track! I have been going to the Shelby event for a few years now as I live in Tulsa.