The Mustang Forum for Track & Racing Enthusiasts

Taking your Mustang to an open track/HPDE event for the first time? Do you race competitively? This forum is for you! Log in to remove most ads.

• Welcome to the Ford Mustang forum built for owners of the Mustang GT350, BOSS 302, GT500, and all other S550, S197, SN95, Fox Body and older Mustangs set up for open track days, road racing, and/or autocross. Join our forum, interact with others, share your build, and help us strengthen this community!

Are they worth it?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Exp. Type
Autocross
Exp. Level
Under 3 Years
Topeka, KS
I'm new to S197s but I've owned 6 or so SN95s that I've done open track and autocross events with. I'm going to the MCA HDPE event at the beginning of October and I wanted to stiffen up the chassis in my new-to-me 2014 GT. I bought it with SR Performance lowering springs and Koni STR.T struts (stock rear shocks). It also had a different pan hard bar and lower control arms. In the SN95s, body-twist seemed to be an issue and I'm guessing it's similar with the S197. I'm looking at a few Steeda parts to bolt on prior to the event and wanted to know your experience with these parts or something similar.

Billet Strut Tower Brace - 555 5726 WHP - I've got the FRPP supercharger on it, so the factory STB was removed
Chassis X-Brace with Rear Seat Retention - 555 5093
3-point Torque Box Frame Rail Brace - 555-5551

3-point.JPG

X-Brace.JPG

Bill Pemberton

0ld Ford Automotive Racing Terror
Exp. Type
Time Attack
Exp. Level
20+ Years
Blair, Nebraska